Classical Sunday: Dvořák’s “From the New World”

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”

Conductor: Sergiu Celibidache

Orchestra: Münchner Philharmoniker, 1991

1. Adagio – Allegro molto 00:54
2. Largo, 12:56
3. Scherzo/Molto Vivace 29:55
4. Allegro con fuoco 39:22

I am not such a connoisseur of conductors, but Sergiu Celibidache, much like Christian Thielemann, really makes a difference, it seems.  What a wonderful piece, wonderfully performed.

Happy Thanksgiving (week), everyone!


6 Replies to “Classical Sunday: Dvořák’s “From the New World””

  1. This symphony was my first introduction to the world of classical music. My parents were probably so relieved I found it as a teenager among their lps and played it. I loved its boldness and true sense of discovery. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know that you have already had your Canadian Thanksgiving Day, but I guess the spirit of Erntedank is not restricted to one day anyway. Happy Thanksgiving then, if belated, to you and yours. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: