Classical Sunday: Massenet’s Orchestral Suite No. 1

Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jean-Yves Ossonce.

Jules Massenet: Orchestral Suite No. 1 Op. 13 (1865)

I. Pastorale et fugue
II. Variations
III. Nocturne
IV. Marche et strette.

Jules Massenet (1842 – 1912) was a French composer of the Romantic era best known for his operas.  He also composed other music, among them ballets and the orchestral suit we picked for this Sunday.

Author: Anne

~ In the right order of nature, the flesh is subject to the spirit and not the reverse. ~ The Cloud of Unknowing

2 thoughts on “Classical Sunday: Massenet’s Orchestral Suite No. 1”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: