Classical Sunday: Buxtehude’s Seven Sonatas Op. 2

Dieterich Buxtehude (1637 – 1707):  Seven Sonatas Op. 2

1. Sonata in B flat major, Op. 2/1, BuxWV 259
2. Sonata in D major, Op. 2/2, BuxWV 260 7:28
3. Sonata in G minor, Op. 2/3, BuxWV 261 19:24
4. Sonata in C minor, Op. 2/4, BuxWV 262 30:00
5. Sonata in A major, Op. 2/5, BuxWV 263 37:10
6. Sonata in E major, Op. 2/6, BuxWV 264 45:59
7. Sonata in F major, Op. 2/7, BuxWV 265 55:17

Performed by the Purcell Quartet.

In the video:  An Elegant Company Playing Music by Dirck Hals (1591-1656)

Featured an old engraving of the city of Lübeck, where Buxtehude died.  Today, the city lies in the northernmost German province of Schleswig-Holstein, but when Buxehude lived there, the Free City of Lübeck belonged to the Holy Roman Empire.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: