Classical Sunday: Glazunov’s From the Middle Ages

Glazunov was significant in that he successfully reconciled nationalism and cosmopolitanism in Russian music.

Alexander Glazunov : From the Middle Ages, Suite for orchestra Op. 79 (1902)

I. Prélude. Allegro
II. Scherzo. Allegro assai
III. Sérénade du troubadour. Andantino
IV. Finale. Allegro.
Performed by the Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Vladimir Fedoseyev.


Alexander Konstantinovich Glazunov (1865 – 1936) was a Russian composer, music teacher, and conductor of the late Russian Romantic period.

%d bloggers like this: