Classical Sunday: Schubert’s Octet in F Major

Schubert’s uncommon gifts for music were evident from an early age, which was just as well because he died quite early at age 31.

Franz Schubert: Octet in F Major, D. 803 (1824)

Antje Weithaas, Violine
Alina Pogostkina, Violine
Veronika Hagen, Viola
Sol Gabetta, Cello
Robert Vizvari, Double Bass
Alejandro Núñez, Horn
Gustavo Núñez, Bassoon
Sabine Meyer, Clarinet

1. Adagio. Allegro 0:00
2. Adagio 12:00
3. Scherzo: Allegro vivace 24:10
4. Andante; 7 Variations 30:50
5. Menuetto: Allegretto. Trio 43:12
6. Andante. Allegro 50:24

IMG_2204 - Edited

Franz Peter Schubert (1797 – 1828) was an Austrian composer of the late Classical and early Romantic eras.  Despite his short lifetime, Schubert left behind a vast oeuvre, and today is ranked among the greatest composers of Western classical music.

%d bloggers like this: