Classical Sunday: Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of the Animals

Let’s have some fun!

Camille Saint-Saëns:  The Carnival of the Animals (1886)

From the beginning, Saint-Saëns regarded The Carnival of the Animals as a piece of fun.  The work was written for private performance by an ad hoc ensemble of two pianos and other instruments, and is considered a humorous musical suite of fourteen movements.

The Carnival of the Animals

I “Introduction et marche royale du lion” (Introduction and Royal March of the Lion)
II “Poules et coqs” (Hens and Roosters)
III “Hémiones (animaux véloces)” (Wild Donkeys Swift Animals)
IV “Tortues” (Tortoises)
V “L’Éléphant” (The Elephant)
VI “Kangourous”
VII “Aquarium”
VIII “Personnages à longues oreilles” (Characters with Long Ears)
IX “Le Coucou au fond des bois” (The Cuckoo in the Depths of the Woods)
X “Volière” (Aviary)
XI “Pianistes” (Pianists)
XII “Fossiles” (Fossils)
XIII “Le cygne” (The Swan)
XIV Final (Finale)

%d bloggers like this: