Classical Sunday: Hans Erich Pfitzner (Piano Concerto in E-flat major, Op.31)

Hans Pfitzner – Piano Concerto in E-flat major, Op.31 (1922)

Conducted by the one and only Christian Thielemann.
Pianist: Tzimon Barto
Orchestra: Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden

Hans Erich Pfitzner was born in Moscow on May 22, 1949.  He was a German composer who self-identified as anti-modernist.  This is why we like him.

Full biography at

Mov.I: Pomphaft mit Kraft und Schwung – bedeutend langsamer, sehr empfindungsvoll, schwer und ernst-Tempo I 00:00
Mov.II: Heiterer Satz. Ziemlich schnell, in einheitlich atemlosem Zeitmass
Mov.III: Ausserst ruhig, versonnen, schwarmerisch 23:42
Mov.IV: Rasch, ungeschlacht launig

Author: Donald

" is a commodity to be bought or not to be bought, a luxury in which we may either indulge or stint ourselves, like any other. And there are many luxuries that we may legitimately prefer to it, such as a grateful conscience, a country life, or the woman of our inclination." ~Robert Louis Stevenson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: