Classical Sunday: Schubert’s Octet in F Major

Schubert’s uncommon gifts for music were evident from an early age, which was just as well because he died quite early at age 31.

Franz Schubert: Octet in F Major, D. 803 (1824)

Antje Weithaas, Violine
Alina Pogostkina, Violine
Veronika Hagen, Viola
Sol Gabetta, Cello
Robert Vizvari, Double Bass
Alejandro Núñez, Horn
Gustavo Núñez, Bassoon
Sabine Meyer, Clarinet

1. Adagio. Allegro 0:00
2. Adagio 12:00
3. Scherzo: Allegro vivace 24:10
4. Andante; 7 Variations 30:50
5. Menuetto: Allegretto. Trio 43:12
6. Andante. Allegro 50:24

IMG_2204 - Edited

Franz Peter Schubert (1797 – 1828) was an Austrian composer of the late Classical and early Romantic eras.  Despite his short lifetime, Schubert left behind a vast oeuvre, and today is ranked among the greatest composers of Western classical music.

Author: Anne

~ In the right order of nature, the flesh is subject to the spirit and not the reverse. ~ The Cloud of Unknowing

3 thoughts on “Classical Sunday: Schubert’s Octet in F Major”

  1. Schubert was one of my earliest childhood favorites. I loved his works then and still do today. Oh, and today! Pinkas Zukerman at the symphony! He’ll be doing a Beethoven’s 3rd violin concerto, and it is going to be absolutely awesome! Have a wonderful Sunday. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: